2008 Season

2008 winners

The Grand Final saw Swinging Members defeat Take Bat to win the cup in nail biting finale to the competition. After the four innings had been played, the score was a 23/23 draw, dictating 5 minutes each way of extra time. This yielded a 32/28 win for Swinging Members.

In the plate competition, played on the previous day, JANET UK secured a 23/13 win, leaving Barmy Army as plate runners-up once again.

The Grand Final was followed by a presentation of trophies for the four finalist teams as well as the top scorers, Simon Cooper and Sarah Wilson. Thanks to Sean Stewart, Head of Laboratory Operations at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, who kindly presented the trophies.

A total of 3203 rounders were scored in the 2008 season.

See links below for more details


League Tables


Scorer Tables


Many thanks to Duncan Russell, Sue Srawley, Ronnie Brumfitt and Jon Gibbard for sending some really great photos of the teams in action in this year's finals. There are some top quality photos there, see Photos for details.